Digital Media- ‘Rest’ Final Artefact

After spending time researching possible avenues I could take for this task, I decided to focus on the idea of how the brain can be seen to counter the idea of rest as it does not sleep when we do. To compliment and echo this idea, I also wanted to show the idea of how the technological world can be seen as aways ‘switched on’ and awake. This made me think about our lecture we had on networks; both our brains and the Internet are forms of networks, that are widely connected, they happen to be very similar, the internet being a larger digital version of the brain. This link between them echoes my link for this artefact as I wanted to represent through my imagery how both the brain and the digital world can be seen as not resting.

To represent this idea I took influence from the work of Todd Hido, who photographs homes at night focusing on the lighting from within these homes. The lighting could be seen as representing the human presence of the home owners; for my own body of work I wanted to similarly photograph homes and their internal lights, including focusing on the light cast from technology that has been left on at night, such as TVs or computers. These lights represent the ‘awake’ technology and brain while most people would be sleeping, the photographs will be taken very late at night/in the early hours of the morning, a time that most people would be asleep.

I spent time walking around finding homes that were still lit at night and photographed them using a long exposure and a tripod; this meant that I got sharp photographs that were well lit showing the light from within the homes. Some photographs at brighter than others due to the fact that street lighting affected some of the photographs and also the light within the homes was brighter in some places than others.

Overall I am very happy with the series of photographs I have collect, they show my theme well looking at the idea of the ‘non resting’ brain and digital world. Also the images show a range of different homes and lights showing the wide range and diversity in the human and digital world.

DSC_0549 DSC_0553 DSC_0555 DSC_0564 DSC_0566 DSC_0569 DSC_0586 DSC_0590 DSC_0593 DSC_0596 DSC_0604

Leave a Reply

