Picbod- Forms, Functions and Interactions Task

For this weeks task we have been asked to photographically consider how you are corporeally connected and/or disconnected with the spaces you conduct your life in. We may wish to examine the structure of the body and how it is distorted to serve certain roles or we may think about the time and locations in which the body shapes the environments it has found itself occupying.

This is an interesting concept that could be explored in a number of ways; after looking at a range of photographers work that links to these theme, I was influenced by the work of Kevin Miyazaki and his body of work ‘Camp Home’ and Anna Fox‘s series 41 Hewitt Road. In both series, even though these are different in subject matter, they both look at the marks and changes we make to environment around us to make it feel more like home. Both bodies of work made me think about how we all ‘customise’ places making them more personal and homely. In prisons it is hard to make it your own, and so the ‘Camp Home’ series is looking at the little details that speak about our interactions with a space. The work of Fox is similar, looking at the details and marks we make, but in a home this time, so the work has a different subject but a similar message is being portrayed. I really like both bodies of work and the ideas behind them, for this task I am interested into looking at how I have ‘customised’ my uni room.

This year I have rented a house with three other students. When we arrived the rooms were bare and empty with only a bed, wardrobe, desk, chair and chest of drawers; I had to make my room my own. Using my objects and personal belongings as well as decorations and bedding, I transformed my room from an empty shell to something that I could call my own and feel safe in.

This idea of how we each have our rooms to represent us as a person made me think of the work of Ashley Gilberson, and his series Bedrooms of Fallen Soldiers; black-and-white images depict the bedrooms of forty fallen soldiers. These bedrooms have been left intact by families of the deceased, and are reminders of lives cut short: we see high school diplomas and pictures from prom, sports medals and souvenirs, and markers of the idealism that carried them to war. Each room is personal to each individual and these items within the room become a representation of their lives and personalities. Although this is different from my idea for this task, there are still links between the work, showing the personalisation of our environment around us to make it our own.

After looking at all three bodies of work, I spent time looking at my own room and the changes I have made to it; I then photographed some of these changes to show my own mark on the environment around me. The image below shows what my room looked like on the day I moved, the ones that follow show my small customisations to make my room feel more homely.

IMG_1972

The images below show some of my changes that I made to my room to make it more personal, I decided to focus on the smaller details that on their own would not be much but they make my room a lot more homely. I didn’t want to show my whole room change as that would be shown in one image, I feel having a few images shows my ideas well yet they are not too literal. The little details also give my viewers a clue about my personality and likes, showing my passion for photography through the large number of photography books, my fashion style from my clothes and my ‘girlieness’ from the fairy lights and bunting.

DSC_0091 DSC_0098 DSC_0099

Leave a Reply

