PicBod- Relationship Task, Idea One

My first idea for this task was to look at the distance between a relationship and the space between. At home Ellie and myself live about 30 minutes away from each other, yet we had a strong friendship even with this distance between us; now I have moved away to university this distance has increased further, yet when I go and see her even after being away for a long time, it is like nothing has changed in our friendship. I want this distance to be my focus for this idea, I want to represent it to show our separation. My first idea for showing this separation was use Google Maps and represent my journey from mine my house to hers through a set of images. I want to especially focus on the ‘Sheppey Bridge’ as this allows us to visit each other, for without the bridge I would not be able to get onto the island Ellie lives on. I have taken influence from the world of Mishka Henner for this idea, I have looked at Henner’s work may times and it really interests me. I plan to use Google Maps as my image source, like Henner does, it questions the idea of authorship and also shows a different way of creating a project. Even though Henner’s subjects were different from my own I can still take influence from his work.

Screen Shot 2015-01-28 at 16.44.52 Screen Shot 2015-01-28 at 16.49.26 Screen Shot 2015-01-28 at 16.49.19 Screen Shot 2015-01-28 at 16.49.11 Screen Shot 2015-01-28 at 16.48.42 Screen Shot 2015-01-28 at 16.48.14 Screen Shot 2015-01-28 at 16.47.41 Screen Shot 2015-01-28 at 16.47.22 Screen Shot 2015-01-28 at 16.46.37 Screen Shot 2015-01-28 at 16.46.00 Screen Shot 2015-01-28 at 16.45.19

I do like this series of images, showing my crossing of the ‘Sheppey Bridge’ as they show my personal journey as well as the distance and separation created by the water. Furthermore I like how the images are panoramic which echo the view you have when driving, this allows the viewer and myself to go on that journey visually. At first glance people would think these are all the same image, but with subtle changes you can see the progression of my journey. I do like this series however I feel that is was the obvious choice for representing my ‘journey’. I want to stick with the bridge crossing as my focus but look at it in a different way.

DSC_7916

DSC_7848 DSC_7871DSC_7889
DSC_7972-2

I feel that these images are a lot stronger and more interesting compared to my previous series of Google Maps images. They show the ‘Sheppey Bridge’ well, as well as showing the distance and separation between the main land and the Isle of Sheppy. No only do they show this distance and separation, I also believe they show the metaphor of mine and Ellie’s relationship, and how even though we may be quite a distance apart, we are still connected by our friendship so that when we come together again it is like nothing has changed between us.

I do really like this series of images, however I plan to also develop my other idea as well and then make an informed decision as to which I think meets the task best while also showing my creativity.

Leave a Reply

