Digital Media- ‘Work’ Artefact Influences

After looking into the idea of tracking the daily routines of people using technology, I decided to look at different existing work that uses technology to make new and exciting pieces of work. I have been majorly influenced by the work of Travis Hodges, and how he looks into peoples ‘routines’ of tracking parts of their lives, and then representing these through a set of portraits of the people and their quantitative data.

I started off by looking at abstract glitch art (http://www.dazeddigital.com/artsandculture/article/17802/1/glitch-art-at-the-new-digital-art-biennale); The Wrong is an exhibition displaying a range of artists artwork, the exhibition has no theme, instead is combines a range of different arts that all are glitch art. Wikipeadia defines Glitch Art as; the aestheticization of digital or analog errors, such as artefacts and other “bugs”, by either corrupting digital code/data or by physically manipulating electronic devices. The exhibition has an official partnership with the Glitche app (which allows iPhone users to glitch their own images). All the different artworks are very interesting, looking at different themes and ideas. Andre Andrade’s work is an example of how glitch is drifting from its original meaning, inspired by the signal bugs which interrupt analog TV transmissions; the work can be seen as relatable for people who have experienced glitchy TV’s.

1056226

This is just one example of the type of work within the exhibition, the whole exhibition has a range of work; I really like the different types of work that all show different themes and ‘glitches’. Even though I do like this work, I will not be using a similar process for my project as I feel it does not link to my idea of routine and tracking as well, yet I still thought it would be good to look at a different way of incorporating art and technology.

I also looked at the work of Kirk Manamyx and his project Basic Cable. ‘Through the use of image repetition, Basic Cable is a visualisation that explores media over-saturation and the abundance of specialty programming. By capturing nearly 500,000 images, 7200 images per week and per channel, a unique visual representation is created of all 69 channels found on Comcast’s Basic Cable broadcasting.

Each channel is digitally captured at 1 minute intervals for an entire week. The visual data from each day is overlaid so that each moment is composited with the same moment from the other days. This procedure produces an formal pattern that shows the structure of the programming and provides a platform for socio-political commentary on the ramifications of non-stop media and advertising on society.’

lPYa6Be9

The work is interesting and surreal, combining the use of technology and the digital world to create a creative abstract piece. I like how this data has been collected over a period of time to show the pattern and changes in each day; in my own work I want to look at the idea of routine over a certain amount of time to look at any patterns and changes that occur during this period. Due to the time limits for this module, I would not be able to do a long term project like this however I could look into doing a shorter one but that would still have a lot of activity. I have the idea of looking at travel; I live in a small city and so I can walk most places, I would say my lifestyle is quite spread out through the city but there are areas that I do not visit; it could be interesting to track my weekly routine to see where I go over a period of a week of so and to see if any patterns arise. I could use maps to plot my the locations I visit to see if I do have any patterns with my weekly routine. To combine with this I could look also at my family and do a comparison between all four family members weekly routines; my dad travels around a lot because of his work and so would have a large span of locations whereas my mum works from home and so would probably have a very small span, my brother is still at school and so would not travel as much as me and my dad, but would travel more than my mum. I plan on looking into this idea a bit more to see if any patterns arise.

After my idea of looking into using maps for following my family’s weekly routine, I decided to look at the work of Mishka Henner; Henner uses public sources of images from places such as Google Maps and Google Street view to create his projects. Fifty-One US Military Outposts documents and locates 51 overt and covert military outposts used by the United States in fifty-one different countries across the world. Sites located and gathered from information available in the public domain, official US military and veterans’ websites and forums, domestic and foreign news articles, and official and leaked government documents and reports. The use of sources such as Google maps allows Henner to create a project based on location and pin pointing exact locations. In my own work I am looking at tracking the locations each of my family visits in a week and I could look into working in a similar way to Henner by making use of public domain imagery to form part of my artefact.

ANTIGUA - Antigua Air Station- Antigua and Barbuda

The use of maps also makes me think of the work of Olaf Unverzart and his work Alp: Alpine Landscape Pictures; in this work Unverzart tracks his journey through the alps as he documents the landscape around him. Even though the subject matter is different from my ideas and themes I am looking at for this project, I can still take influence from the work and use of tracking. At the beginning of his photobook, after an essay about the work, Unverzart gives his viewers a map of the Alps and pin points each location he visited to shoot the project. In my own work I could look into using a map to exactly pin point the locations each member of my family visits in a week.

photo

Ghiacciaio della Brenva, Italy, 2012

All of these photographers have influenced my thinking and how I want to approach this project; I now plan to experiment with different layouts and develop my idea further once I have collected the data from my family of all the locations they have visited in a week.

Leave a Reply

