Digital Media- Knowledge is Power

During our second lecture we continued to look at the idea of power and truth within the digital world. There are many examples of websites and imagery that are lying to us as users, in fact we are constantly being lied to whether it be through advertisements, the news, hoaxes, manipulations and Wikipedia. All these sites have a ‘side’ and are biased, as users you have to be aware of the people involved and that the information may not be true. Yet even though these places can’t be trusted, for example Wikipedia, people still use/watch them; I myself am an example of this, I know the Daily Mail is not the most trusted news, yet I still look at the online stories, especially the showbiz section nearly everyday.

It is thought that if something chimes with your beliefs you wont go and check its certitude, however if it’s the other way around, you try to prove it wrong. This leads on the idea that we are in a filter bubble, we filter the information we trust/like and ignore the rest. In the digital world, Google knows what we like from what we have searched before, and so it filters our searches to match our previous internet history, for example two people searching for the same thing on Google would receive different website results depending on their internet history. Therefore it is important to considerwhen making a website, who your audience is likely to be; I imagine my website would be shown in the Google results of people who are interested in photography.

The lecture moved on to discuss real time communication- mobiles, traffic, skype. Now a days you can do everything on your phone, this has led to a detachment from face to face communication, people now often opt to texting someone rather than picking up the phone, and even when in the company of other people, you will often see people just sitting on their phones instead of talking with the people around them. To myself this is an interesting concept as I do enjoy using my phone for social media and contacting friends I am not with, yet I do not spend my whole life sitting on my phone, after not long I become bored of it and would rather do something else. Having said that I would say I would rather text someone than pick up the phone and talk to them, I feel more comfortable behind my phone texting as I can edit the message. Texting/social media also allows me to multi-task, I can do work yet still be able to have a conversation with someone at the same time. The whole idea of the digital age changing the way we communicate really interests me and this could be something I look at for my artefacts for my website.

Finally we looked at how photographic and technological advances affect us as a society. Gigapixel images are super high quality images that are used for surveillance, one photograph of a large crowd can be used to identity individuals. These cameras are being used for riots, but they are very expensive so can’t be used for normal CCTV. Gait recognition is the use of technology to identify people by the way the walk, each person’s walk is entirely unique. Both of these examples show how photography and technology have come together to help society.

Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 14.24.39

Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 14.25.01

Leave a Reply

