Site Specific Project- The River Sherbourne- More Own Photographs

After continuing my research on the River Sherbourne, I decided the  best thing to do next was to begin going out and visiting locations along the river, photographing and documenting the river’s journey and my own. I wanted to experiment with different medias and so decided to shoot both in digital and black and white film. I wanted to compare not only the use of colour but also the process and type of photography.

Black and White Film Photography:

Screen Shot 2014-10-29 at 12.38.21 Screen Shot 2014-10-29 at 12.38.18 Screen Shot 2014-10-29 at 12.38.13

Colour Digital Photography:

Screen Shot 2014-10-29 at 12.43.24

Screen Shot 2014-10-29 at 12.43.28

Although I do like the use of analogue photography and its process, I feel that using digital photography would be a better medium for me. As I want to document the journey of the river, a digital camera allows me to take a large number of shots as I travel down the river, where as with analogue this would be an expensive option. Furthermore as I’m documenting my own personal journey of discovery, I feel that a digital camera is more appropriate as it would be my personal choice of camera and it’s a camera that I have used numerous times to document my travels. I often feel that digital photography allows greater control over the photograph and produces a clearer and more detailed image; for this reason I want to use digital, as in my images I want them as clear as possible to show the detail of the river and surrounding area.

When looking through both the black and white photographs and the colour ones, I feel that the colour is a lot stronger; the colour shows the beauty of the natural colour palette and the wide range of colours within nature. Furthermore by using colour I feel it shows the different locations true to what they would look like, allowing my viewer to travel through the landscape through my photographs. When using colour I will need to consider the range of tones and lighting and how this could effect my images, as I want to produce a coherent body of work that links visually as well as with the subject.

Leave a Reply

