Reply to My Letter to Self

Okay well here it is, I have come to the end of my first year at university, and so once again I am sitting here writing a letter to myself, replying to my letter I wrote just before I came to university.

Well hasn’t time flown by, I cannot believe how fast this year has gone and that I am coming to the end of my first year of study at university, it’s scary to think that it means I’m a third of my way through.

So in reply to my letter from past me, yes I made friends, thank god! I love the people I have met and got to know at university, I don’t think I could’ve got through this first year without them. I will admit I was nervous when I first arrived, saying goodbye to the safety of home, but do I regret coming to Coventry? Not in the slightest, I have probably had one of the best years of my life. Yes there have been ups and downs, but that’s life, in general I have had an amazing time.

I know you worried at the start of uni whether your work would be good enough, well I think that from the feedback and good results you have got, it just proves to you that you are a good photographer and you deserve to be here. You have pushed yourself this year, to be the best and your results have echoed this hard work; I am so proud of what I have achieved and want to keep up this standard throughout my time at university and then on into my later career. Each module you strived to achieve better and to do the best you could, Matt even questioned why you worked so hard, I think you can take that as a compliment. You are forever trying to prove that you are good enough and that photography is a worthy degree, but the amount of work you put in just proves that I am good at what I do.

Your work has improved immensely over this year, getting stronger and stronger, you have learnt so much, especially in areas that I was weaker on. I feel more confident as a creative person and practitioner in photography; before you had little knowledge on photographers’ work and different techniques. However now I am more confident in these areas, willing to try new things and even throwing myself in the deep end. In the first module you used liquid emulsion instead of sticking to simple photographic paper like everyone else did; you had a vision and stuck to it, creating beautiful and unique results that were rewarded with a great mark.

Now on to the cooking… Well I am glad to say you can cook, and pretty damn good, who knew I would become the chef of the flat and be doing Sunday roasts. So goodbye Pot Noodles, hello gourmet cooking (well not quite).

Finally I am pleased to say you have not changed too much, you are still the fun loving weirdo, but now I have to admit I have grown up, I am much more mature, and this is a good thing, having a balance between the professional side and the fun side. You never want to be too serious after all.

So Jess, keep working hard like you have this year and you will be just fine.

Love Jess

writers-block

Leave a Reply

