Human Presence- Final Photographs and Display

Overall I am very pleased with my final photographs; I feel the colours of the photographs all link well, being similar tones, as well as giving my photographs a timeless feel, making them look old, echoing my idea of how shops have been around for so long, representing people’s lives and lifestyles. Due to the salt printing process, some of the detail in the photographs has been lost, which is a shame, however there is still enough to see what the photograph is of. Furthermore the salt printing gives a flatter image, with less contrast; if I were to do this again I would increase the contrast of my original photographs before printing them onto acetate, to try to overcome this problem.

Salt Print004

Salt Print003

Salt Print001

Salt Print002

I have decided to display my salt prints in frame with no mount just the edge of the frame and the glass. I have decided this as I feel this will best suit my photograms; the frame will echo the edge and structure of the buildings and shops and the glass will represent the glass from shop windows. I want my viewers to be transported to each individual shop, looking at each different human presence and personality; to do this I feel the glass from the frame will echo the glass from the shop windows and create the effect of the viewer ‘looking into’ each shop as though they are looking through the actual shop window.

IMG_7118

By having smaller prints it means that for displaying them in the exhibition, they will be easier to line alongside each other, it will not matter too much on space and would offer more flexibility to the curator. I want them in a line as this positioning is echoing the idea of lines of shops seen throughout the world. As my audience is visitors to exhibitions, I needed to make sure my photographs were big enough to get enough detail from, as there are often a wide range of people who visit exhibitions all with different eyesight. By having smaller prints it also means that viewers will probably have to get closer to view them, this will make the viewing more personal and intimate, echoing the idea of human presence and these photographs showing the personality of people and their lives.

Leave a Reply

